January 16, 2020

Two new regional visas have been introduced which require migrants to commit to life in regional Australia for at least three years which opens to the door to permanent residency and citizenship.

New laws will give these new regional visa holders similar access to welfare and government services as permanent visa holders.

The 2 new skilled regional provisional visas are;

  1. A) Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa – for people nominated by a State or Territory government or sponsored by an eligible family member to live and work in regional
  2. B) Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa – for people sponsored by an employer in regional Australia

To be eligible for permanent residence, holders of the new skilled regional provisional visas will need to show they have lived and worked in regional Australia while holding one of these visas.

Regional employers will have access to:

  1. more regional occupations to sponsor migrants to work in regional Australia
  2. priority processing of regional visa applications
  3. additional points for certain points-tested migrants who are sponsored to settle in regional Australia.


There are two categories of designated regional areas:

  1. Cities and major regional centre
  2. Regional centres and other regional areas

Both categories have access to regional incentives:

  1. access to the dedicated 25,000 regional places
  2. priority processing of regional visa applications
  3. access to the Regional Occupation List – more jobs compared to non-regional lists and
  4. international graduates with a bachelor or higher qualification from a regional campus of a registered institution will be eligible for an extra year in Australia on a Temporary Graduate visa

Getting Assistance

ASC Migration are regional visa processing specialists, therefore if you need any assistance kindly contact us today. We’d be glad to assist.

Leave a Reply